top of page


Ballarat Sportmen's Club logo

The Ballarat Sportsmen’s Club Incorporated is a unique ‘not for profit’ club which has a proud tradition of over 60 years involvement in the Ballarat and district sporting community. Our main objectives are to promote, celebrate and support sport in the Ballarat District and to provide fellowship and enjoyment for the club's members at dinners that have a sporting theme. 



SOTY_Guest_Joel Selwood.png
2023 Sportsperson of the Year

Special Guest

Joel Selwood

6.00pm for a 6.30pm start

Wednesday 14th February, 2024

Ballarat Golf Club

Ballarat Sportsmen's Club Rowing



BSC Pportsperson of the Year 2022 Kathryn Mitchell
Sportsperson of the Year Awards

The Sportsperson of the Year Awards recognise the city’s community of athletes, including the elite, and up-and-coming juniors, their coaches, Club administrators, and supporters.

Ballarat sporting groups, associations, coaches, and friends of athletes may submit awards nominations. The BSC’s members, finalists, their family, friends and coaches may attend the dinner.

Ballarat Sportsmen's Club Basketball



The Ballarat Sportsmen’s Club is a very unique ‘not for profit’ club which has a proud tradition of over 60 years involvement in the Ballarat and district sporting community. Life Members include football greats the late Lou Richards, Ron Casey and Jack Dyer, who were regular attendees and instrumental in the Club’s early beginnings. The Club supports the Ballarat Sports Foundation and the FedUni WestVic Academy of Sport Ballarat which financially and personally assists young promising athletes from this district to obtain the assistance they need along the way to achieve their goals.

The Club is held in very high regard within the region, with a membership of 132, which includes VFL/AFL Premiership players, top sportsmen from all forms of sport as well as a number of Olympians such as Steve Moneghetti, Ray Borner, Bryan Thomas, John Vernon, the late Ray Weinberg and Peter Blackburn.

The Club’s signature event is the Sportsperson of the Year Gala Dinner. This event is attended by 320 to 350 people and has attracted as Guest Speakers many national and international leaders, not only on the sporting arena but also from various other fields of endeavour such as the political, academic and social worlds.

Our Guest of Honour list includes two Prime Ministers, a number of Governors and Premiers of Victoria as well as a great cast of Aussie sporting icons and personalities such as John Landy, Hubert Opperman, Lionel Rose, Dawn Fraser, Herb Elliot, John Kennedy and in more recent years James Hird,  Sharelle McMahon, Alicia Molik, The Hon. Hugh Delahunty, Nick Green, Frank Costa, Terry Daniher, Simon Madden, Peter Daicos, Rodney Hogg, Craig Hutchison, Simon Madden, Bill Brownless, Steven Bradbury OAM, Alistair Clarkson, Jana Pittman and Melinda Gainsford-Taylor AM.

Dinner meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each month of the year except for January when there is not a dinner held.  The Sportsperson of the Year Awards are now held on the second Wednesday of February each year.  Dinner meetings are currently held at the Ballarat Golf Club, 1800 Sturt Street, Ballarat commencing at 6.30pm for fellowship and dinner at 7.00pm. The Committee endeavour to arrange high profile speakers who are entertaining and interesting to the broad membership. The main objective of the dinners is to enjoy the fellowship of the Club.

Attendance at dinners is by invitation by Club Members. If you would like to attend any of our dinners please contact the Secretary.

Sports Represented in Club Membership​​

bottom of page